Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Percy Grainger Letter

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 21 Apr 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Grainger, Percy, 1882-1961
Title: Percy Grainger Letter
Dates: 1960
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letter written by the Australian and American composer.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Percy Aldridge Grainger (1882-1961) was an Australian and American composer and pianist. He immigrated to the United States in 1914. He was famous for both his folk music arrangement and his highly experimental compositions, including works for electronic instruments.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Percy Grainger Letter is a handwritten note dated 19 May 1960. It was sent from White Plains, New York and addressed to Leander McCormick-Goodhart. In the letter, Grainger discusses a book by conductor Thomas Beecham.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Grainger, Percy, 1882-1961.

Subjects

Composers -- United States -- Correspondence.

Places

White Plains (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Composers.
Pianists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Percy Grainger Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Commander Leander McCormick-Goodhart, 1963.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 461 1960