Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Peter Graham Papers

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 8 Nov 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Graham, Peter S.
Title: Peter Graham Papers
Dates: before 2004
Quantity: 15 linear ft.
Abstract: American librarian, author and professor at Syracuse University. Collection includes correspondence, organizational files, more.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Peter S. Graham (1939-2004) was an American librarian, writer and professor. He held positions at Columbia University, Indiana University and the Research Libraries Group, and was University Librarian at Syracuse University (SU) from 1998 to 2003. He also taught English and textual studies at SU from 2000 to 2003, and throughout his career served on numerous advisory boards and governing bodies for organizations relating to libraries, books and scholarly publication. In his early twenties he became involved in the civil rights movement, participated in sit-ins and protests, and was once arrested with Stokely Carmichael. He worked for Bayard Rustin as office manager during the organization of the 1963 March on Washington.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Peter Graham Papers includes correspondence, organizational files, more.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the Peter Graham Collection Relating to Bayard Rustin.


Subject Headings

Persons

Graham, Peter S.

Subjects

Librarians -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

College teachers.
Librarians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Peter Graham Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift, 2004.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.