Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Grabhorn Press Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 9 Aug 2013

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Grabhorn Press.
Title: Grabhorn Press Collection
Dates: 1925-1935
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Prospectuses, subscription and order cards, catalogs and publication announcement relating to fine press editions published by Grabhorn.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Grabhorn Press was established by brothers Edwin and Robert Grabhorn in San Francisco in 1920. The Grabhorn Press specialized entirely in fine printing and deluxe limited edition books.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Grabhorn Press Collection consists of printed items issued by the press relating to upcoming publications. These include prospectuses, subscription and order cards, catalogs and publication announcements. Titles represented include Salome (Oscar Wilde), The Book of Job, The Golden Touch (Nathaniel Hawthorne), and a limited edition of original leaves from four Shakespeare folios.


Arrangement of the Collection

Items are in no particular order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Grabhorn Press

Subjects

Private presses -- California.

Genres and Forms

Broadsides.
Leaflets.
Prospectuses.

Occupations

Printers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Grabhorn Press Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.


Table of Contents

Printed material


Inventory

Printed material
SC 693 Miscellaneous 1925-1935 - prospectuses, order forms, announcements, etc.