Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Charles Gounod Letters

An inventory of his letters at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LDC
Date: 11 Nov 2008

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Gounod, Charles, 1818-1893.
Title: Charles Gounod Collection
Dates: 1850-1893
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft. (SC)
Abstract: Autograph letters signed (123) and sheet music from the French composer.
Language: In French
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Charles François Gounod (1818-1893) was a French composer, conductor, and organist best known for his opera Faust.

Gounod was born in Paris in 1818. He entered the Paris Conservatoire in 1836 to study with Halévy and Le Sueur. Gounod's first opera, Sapho, came to fruition when Pauline Viardot promised to sing in the title role. Gounod went on to have a successful musical career, composing operas, oratorios, cantatas, church music, and other orchestral works.

Operatic Works

1851 Sapho
1854 La Nonne sanglante
1858 Le Médecin malgré lui
1859 Faust
1860 La Colombe
Philémon et Baucis
1862 La Reine de Saba
1864 Mireille
1867 Roméo et Juliette
1877 Cinq Mars
1878 Polyeucte
1881 Le Tribut de Zamora

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Charles Gounod Collection contains Correspondence (123 autograph letters) and Sheet music ("Nazareth; A Sacred Song" and "Soldiers' Chorus") from the French composer.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection contains two series: Correspondence and Sheet Music.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Gounod, Charles, 1818-1893 -- Correspondence.

Subjects

Composers -- France.
Music -- 19th century.

Genres and Forms

Letters (correspondence)
Sheet music.

Occupations

Composers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Charles Gounod Collection
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Sheet Music


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 247, Folder 1 1850-1893
Sheet Music
SC 247, Folder 2 "Nazareth; A Sacred Song"
SC 247, Folder 2 "Soldiers' Chorus," from Faust Act IV - chorus for men's voices