Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Chester Gould Letter

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 12 Jan 2017

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Gould, Chester.
Title: Chester Gould Letter
Dates: 1968
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letter from Chester Gould, creator of Dick Tracy, to James M. Albright
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Chester Gould (1900-1985) was an American cartoonist, best known as the creator of the long-running comic strip Dick Tracy.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Chester Gould Letter consists of a handwritten letter from Chester Gould, creator of Dick Tracy, to James M. Albright, regarding use of the character "Sparkle Plenty." The letter is on Dick Tracy letterhead.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Albright, James M.
Gould, Chester.
Tracy, Dick (Fictitious character)

Corporate Bodies

Columbian Rope Company.

Subjects

Cartoonists -- United States.
Comic books, strips, etc -- United States.
Comic strip characters.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Chester Gould Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of James M. Albright, 2016.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 781 Albright, James M. 1968