Collection inventory


Finding Aids

John B. Gough Letters

A description of his letters at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 21 Apr 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Gough, John B. (John Bartholomew), 1817-1886
Title: John B. Gough Letters
Dates: 1844-1879
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Business and personal correspondence of the lecturer and temperance reformer.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

John Bartholomew Gough (1817-1886) was an English lecturer and temperance reformer. Originally born in Kent, England, he immigrated to the United States with his family at the age of 12. He was a drunkard as a young man, but reformed himself after attending a temperance meeting in Worcester, Massachusetts in 1842. He then began a career as a temperance lecturer, traveling throughout American, Canada and the British Isles. He was one of the most famous public speakers of the late 19th century.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John G. Gough Letters contains outgoing personal and business correspondence of Gough. The 20 handwritten letters span the years of 1844 to 1879. Many are addressed to Gough's friends or his wife Mary, while others respond to requests for Gough's services as a lecturer. The letters were sent from a variety of places in America, Scotland and England, although most were sent from Gough's home of Worcester, Massachusetts.


Arrangement of the Collection

Items are in chronological order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Gough, John B. (John Bartholomew), 1817-1886.

Subjects

Temperance -- Massachusetts -- Worcester County -- History.
Temperance -- United States -- History -- 19th century.

Places

Worcester (Mass.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Lecturers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John B. Gough Letters,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 460 1844-1879