Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Goudy Type Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 6 Mar 2017

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Goudy, Frederic W. (Frederic William), 1865-1947.
Title: Goudy Type Collection
Dates: Undated
Quantity: approximately 12 linear ft.
Abstract: Two cabinets of original type, by noted American type designer Frederic Goudy.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Frederic W. Goudy (1865-1947) was an American printer and type designer of more than 120 fonts, among them Copperplate Gothic, Kennerley, and Goudy Old Style. Frederic's wife Bertha M. Goudy worked closely with him and was a noted graphic designer in her own right. Both Frederic and Bertha were self-taught. Goudy had a long-standing relationship with Syracuse University (SU); he was awarded the distinguished service medal by SU's Newhouse School of Journalism in 1936, received an honorary doctorate from SU in 1939, and was appointed a lecturer at the School of Journalism in 1940. Dates given are the dates the typeface was designed, but may not be the actual date this type was cast.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Goudy Type Collection consists of two large cabinets of lead type, designed by noted American type designer Frederic W. Goudy. Important fonts in the collection include Deepdene, Sherman, and Goudy Newstyle.


Arrangement of the Collection

In original cabinets, in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.Viewing of this collection must be scheduled in advance. The cabinet may only be opened for viewing when the Lemke Seminar Room is available and with an SCRC curator present.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the Frederic W. Goudy Collection, David M. Norton Collection relating to Frederic Goudy, and Charles Pont Collection relating to Frederic Goudy.


Subject Headings

Persons

Goudy, Frederic W. (Frederic William), 1865-1947.

Subjects

Graphic design (Typography) -- United States.
Letterpress printing -- United States.
Printing -- United States -- History.

Genres and Forms

Type specimens.
Typefaces (Type forms)

Occupations

Printers.
Type designers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Goudy Type Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Originally in the posssession of Syracuse University's S. I. Newhouse School of Journalism, the collection was at some point transferred to the School of Visual and Performing Arts and then, in 2008, to Special Collections Research Center.


Table of Contents

Goudy type


Inventory

Goudy type
Drawer 1 is empty.
Cabinet 1, Drawer 2 Tory 24 pt. 1935
Cabinet 1, Drawer 3 Tory 18 pt. 1935
Cabinet 2, Drawer 4-13 Sherman 14 pt. 1912 (10 drawers)
Cabinet 1, Drawer 14 Truesdell 16 pt. 1930
Cabinet 1, Drawer 14 Truesdell 18 pt. 1930
Cabinet 1, Drawer 15 Goudy Newstyle 18 pt. 1921
Cabinet 1, Drawer 16 Trajan Title 12 pt. 1930
Cabinet 1, Drawer 16 Trajan Title 18 pt. 1930
Cabinet 1, Drawer 16 Trajan Title 24 pt. 1930
Cabinet 1, Drawer 17 Trajan Title Ornate 30 pt. 1930?
Cabinet 2, Drawer 1-2 Goudy Village No. 2 16 pt. 1932 (2 drawers)
Cabinet 2, Drawer 3 Goudy Village Italic 14 pt. 1934
Cabinet 2, Drawer 4 Goudy Village Italic 16 pt. 1934
Cabinet 2, Drawer 5 Tory 14 pt. 1935
Cabinet 2, Drawer 6 Goudy Village No. 2 14 pt. 1932
Cabinet 2, Drawer 7 Goudy Village No. 2 16 pt. 1932
Cabinet 2, Drawer 8 Medieval 14 pt 1930
Cabinet 2, Drawer 9-10 Medieval 16 pt. 1930 (2 drawers)
Cabinet 2, Drawer 11 Medieval 24 pt. 1930
Cabinet 2, Drawer 12 Medieval 30 pt. 1930
Cabinet 2, Drawer 13 Medieval 36 pt. 1930
Cabinet 2, Drawer 14 Medieval 48 pt. 1930
Cabinet 2, Drawer 15 Deepdene 18 pt. 1927
Cabinet 2, Drawer 16 Goudy Village No. 2 Small Caps 12 pt. 1932
Cabinet 2, Drawer 16 Goudy Village No. 2 Small Caps 14 pt. 1932
Cabinet 2, Drawer 16 Goudy Village No. 2 Small Caps 16 pt. 1932