Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Peter L. Goss Collection on Margaret Bourke-White

An inventoryof the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 29 Aug 2011

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Goss, Peter L.
Title: Peter L. Goss Collection on Margaret Bourke-White
Dates: 1966
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence, photographs, printed material, most relating to an exhibit of the work of photographer Margaret Bourke-White at Syracuse University in the spring of 1966.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Margaret Bourke-White (1904-1971) was an American photographer, war correspondent and author. Among her notable achievements, she was the first foreign photographer permitted to take pictures of Soviet Industry, the first female war correspondent, and the first female photographer for Life magazine. Her papers are deposited at Syracuse University Library's Special Collections Research Center.

Peter L. Goss is a graduate of Syracuse University, a professor emeritus of architectural history at the University of Utah and a documentary photographer. In 1966 Goss was a graduate student and chairman of VISAGE, a student photography group responsible for organizing and mounting the exhibit to which this collection relates.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Peter L. Goss Collection on Margaret Bourke-White consists of correspondence, photographs, printed material and published material, the bulk of which relate to an exhibit of Bourke-White's work in 1966 at Syracuse University.


Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the Margaret Bourke-White Papers.


Subject Headings

Persons

Bourke-White, Margaret, 1904-1971.
Goss, Peter L.

Corporate Bodies

S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications

Associated Titles

Portrait of myself.

Subjects

Photographers -- United States -- 20th century.
Photojournalists -- United States -- 20th century.
Women photographers.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Exhibition catalogs.
Photographs.

Occupations

Photographers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Peter L. Goss Collection on Margaret Bourke-White,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Peter L. Goss, 2011.


Table of Contents

Donor documentation

Correspondence

Photographs

Printed material

Published material, by Bourke-White


Inventory

Donor documentation
Box 1 Inventory - detailed description of collection contents, provided by donor
Correspondence
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1966 - letters from Goss, one from Bourke-White's secretary, and a press release
Photographs
Box 1 Related to exhibit 1966 - photos of Bourke-White, Goss, students, faculty
Box 1 Unrelated to exhibit 1966 - fashion photos taken by Goss for class assignments
Printed material
Box 1 Clippings 1966 - two items relating to exhibit
Box 1 Exhibit catalogs 1966 - also includes brochure about the Newhouse School's photography program
Published material, by Bourke-White
Box 1 Article, "The 30s," Hyphen, vol. 1 May 1966
Box 1 Book, Portrait of Myself - signed and inscribed to Goss