Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

A. Conger Goodyear Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: --
Date: Jun 1957

Biographical History

A. Conger Goodyear (1877-1964) was an American manufacturer and businessman. Born in Buffalo, New York on June 20, 1877, he received his A.B. degree from Yale University in 1899 and married Mary Forman on Jun 29, 1904. He began in the manufacturing business in 1900 and subsequently served as chairman of the board of directors of Gaylord Container Corporation, director of Paramount Pictures, director of G. M. & O. railroad, and department commander of the A.R.C. in the Pacific Ocean area. He served as a colonel in World War I and was the personal representative of the Secretary of War. He was a Major General in the First Division of the New York Guard, a president and trustee of the Museum of Modern Art in New York City, director of the Buffalo Academy of Fine Arts, and governor of the New York Hospital. He was also a member of several clubs, including Alpha Delta Phi, Wolf's Head (at Yale), the Links Club, and the Saturn Club in Buffalo. He was married twice and had four children. He died on April 24, 1964.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The A. Conger Goodyear Papers consists of biographical material, subject files, and published material. Biographical material consists of an autobiography and various citations which make note of Goodyear's career and service to mankind. Subject files contains exhibitions notices, a brochure, a memorandum, and two speeches awarding medals to Goodyear. In some cases, Goodyear had a hand in writing the exhibition catalogues, as is noted in the material. Published material contains books written about and by Goodyear, a book review, and magazine articles by and about Goodyear.

Arrangement of the Collection

All material is arranged alphabetically by subject.


Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has made a concerted effort over the years to ensure that its manuscript and rare books holdings complement each other. As a result, many of our manuscript collections are supported by books, pamphlets, serials and other items which are cataloged in the Rare Books Collection. Please be sure to search the Classic Catalog for these related materials.

Subject Headings


Goodyear family.

Corporate Bodies

Museum of Modern Art (New York, N.Y.)


Businessmen, United States.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

A. Conger Goodyear Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of A. Conger Goodyear, 1964.

Table of Contents

Biographical material

Subject files

Published material