Collection inventory


Finding Aids

John Goodwin Account Book

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 20 Apr 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Goodwin, John, fl. 1843-1870.
Title: John Goodwin Account Book
Dates: 1843-1888
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Account book, one volume, of what appears to be a lumber and hardware business, probably located in East Corinth, Vermont. There are also a few loose papers and one letter.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known of John Goodwin other than what is apparent in the collection. Also mentioned in the collection are George B. Stearns, Isaac Stearns, Woody Corliss, A. S. Corliss and J. B. Kemp, all of East Corinth, Vermont. Of these men too nothing is known other than what appears in the collection.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John Goodwin Account Book consists of one volume and some loose papers, primarily receipts or tallies of figures. The account book is inscribed on the front free end paper with the words "John Goodwin's Account Book." Several of the loose papers mention a J. B. Kemp, including one sheet with the letterhead "J. B. Kemp Dealer in General Merchandise." Other loose sheets mention Woody Corliss, and there is a small printed cardstock ruler, printed on the reverse with "A. S. Corliss Dealer in Dry Goods, Small Wares &c., East Corinth, Vermont." Still others mention Isaac Stearns, and there is a letter to George B. Stearns of East Corinth, from his friend Joseph Ede or Ide, in Peabody, Massachusetts.


Arrangement of the Collection

No particular order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Corliss, A. S.
Corliss, Woody.
Goodwin, John, fl. 1843-1870.
Kemp, J. B.
Stearns, George B.
Stearns, Isaac.

Subjects

Merchants -- Vermont.

Places

Corinth, Vt. -- History.

Genres and Forms

Account books.
Correspondence.
Receipts (financial records)

Occupations

Merchants.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John Goodwin Account Book,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1969.


Table of Contents

Financial records


Inventory

Financial records
SC 455 Account book 1843-1888 - also includes loose receipts and one letter