Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Gnome Press Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: unknown

Revision history:
9 May 2007 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Gnome Press.
Title: Gnome Press Records
Dates: 1948-1952
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the Gnome Press, founded in 1948 by Martin Greenberg and David Kyle. Includes correspondence, production material, and publicity.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Gnome Press was founded in 1948 by Martin Greenberg and David Kyle. It intended to specialize in light space opera and whimsical fantasy but ended up publishing blood-and-thunder fantasy and minor works by major authors. Eighty-six titles were published, the last in 1962.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Gnome Press Records consist of correspondence, one subject file, production material, publicity material, and published material. Correspondence contains incoming and outgoing correspondence, arranged together chronologically. Subject files consists of a single file of blank contract forms. Production material contains book jackets, correspondence, financial papers, and blank forms. Publicity material consists of advertising brochures. Published material contains a single book.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Gnome Press.

Subjects

Publishers and publishing, United States.
Science fiction, American.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Publishers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Gnome Press Records
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Subject file

Production material

Publicity material


Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1951-1952, undated
Subject file
Box 1 Contracts undated
Production material
Box 1 The Sword of Conan (book) 1952 - t.p., table of contents
Box 1 Book jackets (proofs) undated
Box 1 Correspondence 1949-1950
Box 1 Correspondence 1951-1952, undated
Box 1 Financial papers 1951-1952, undated
Box 1 Mss notes undated
Box 1 Order forms (blank)
Box 1 Price lists 1948, 1950
Box 1 Type samples undated
Publicity material
Box 1 Advertising brochures 1949-1950
Box 1 Advertising brochures (proofs) 1950-1951, undated
Published material
Box 1 Travelers of Space (book) 1951