Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Martin H. Glynn Correspondence

A description of his correspondence at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 21 Apr 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Glynn, Martin Henry, 1871-1924
Title: Martin H. Glynn Correspondence
Dates: 1900-1913
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Incoming and some outgoing correspondence of the New York State Congressman and Governor, mainly from his term in the House of Representatives.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Martin Henry Glynn (1871-1924) was an American politician and Democrat. He was elected to the House of Representatives in 1899 and served one term as the representative of the 20th District of New York. He later served as New York State Comptroller (1907-1908) and Lieutenant Governor (1912). Glynn then became Governor of New York after William Sulzer was impeached and removed from office in 1913. He lost his bid for reelection in 1914.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Martin H. Glynn Correspondence consists of approximately 100 items, mainly incoming correspondence from Glynn's term in the House of Representatives. There are also a few items of outgoing correspondence signed by Glynn, mainly short typescript notes. The bulk of the letters span January to April 1900. Correspondents are mostly Glynn's constituents, fellow legislators, and other government officials. Many of the letters discuss contemporary legislation or consist of requests for government publications.

The collection also contains one outgoing letter from Glynn's time as Governor of New York. In this item, dated 28 Nov 1913, Glynn expresses his support for a project to deepen the Hudson River.


Arrangement of the Collection

Items are in chronological order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center also holds papers of Governor Sulzer, whom Glynn replaced in office in 1913. See the William Sulzer Letters.


Subject Headings

Persons

Glynn, Martin Henry, 1871-1924.

Subjects

Governors -- New York (State)
Legislators -- New York (State)
Legislators -- United States -- Correspondence.

Places

New York (State) -- Politics and government -- 1865-1950.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Governors.
Legislators.
Politicians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Martin H. Glynn Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased, 1967.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 459 1900-1916