Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Vincent Glinsky Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: KM
Date: Jul 1994

Biographical History

Vincent Glinsky (1895-1975) was a Russian-American artist and sculptor.

Glinsky was born in Russia on 18 Dec 1895. After coming to America in early childhood, he attended school in Syracuse, New York and then studied at Columbia University's School of Architecture (1924-1925), City College of New York, and the Beaux Arts Institute of Design. In 1935 Glinsky received a Guggenheim Fellowship and soon after left America to settle in Italy and then France. During the Depression Glinsky returned to the United States and worked as a WPA artist and architectural artist.

He has held many one-man shows both in Europe and in the United States. Among the exhibitions he has participated in are the Golden Gate Exposition in San Francisco, the International Watercolor Exhibition in Chicago, and the Contemporary American Art Exhibition in London in 1941.

From 1938-1940 he was the instructor of sculpture at the Beaux Arts Institute of Design in New York. He also taught at Brooklyn College (1949-1955) and in Columbia University's Adult Education Division (summers, 1957-1961).

Glinsky belonged to many clubs and organizations, but his primary interest was in the Audubon Artists and the Architectural League of New York, of which he was vice-president from 1956 to 1958.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Incoming letters and a few outgoing carbons, together with a variety of printed materials, constitute the Correspondence Subject Files (Box 1). Correspondents include fellow artists (Edmond Amateis, Rudulph Evans, Joseph Konzal, Georg Lober, Oronzio Maldarelli, Jacques Schnier, Adolph Alexander Weinman); authors (Kate S. Heyman, Beatrice Gilman Proske); art patrons and specialists (John Coolidge, Edith Halpert, Archer Milton Huntington); and political figures (Sherman Adams, J. William Fulbright, Hubert H. Humphrey, Eleanor Roosevelt, Henry A. Wallace). Organizational correspondence includes that of educational institutions (Beaux Arts Institute of Design, Columbia University, New York University); museums (Carnegie Institute, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts, Whitney Museum of American Art); patrons (National Safety Council, U. S. Treasury Department); political affiliations (American Continental Congress for World Peace, National Council of American Soviet Friendship, Inc., Russian War Relief, Inc., World Congress for Peace); and professional associations (American Academy of Arts and Letters, Architectural League of New York, Audubon Artists, Inc., National Academy of Design, National Sculpture Society).

Artwork consists of periodical reproductions and a photograph, while an article which appeared in the National Sculpture Review, written in collaboration with Glinsky's wife, sculptor Cleo Hartwig, is the sole item in Writings.

Memorabilia (Boxes 1-3) encompasses articles and clippings (1929-1964) about Glinsky, as well as a number of exhibition catalogs ranging from the 1920s through the 1960s.


Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings


Glinsky, Vincent, 1895-1975.


Art, American -- 20th century.
Artists -- United States.
Russian Americans.
Sculptors -- United States.
Sculpture, American -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Exhibition catalogs.



Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Vincent Glinsky Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Vincent Glinsky, 1964, 1965.

Table of Contents

Correspondence-Subject Files