Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Tristram Gilman Sermons

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 7 Jan 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Gilman, Tristram, 1735-1809.
Title: Tristram Gilman Sermons
Dates: 1768-1807
Quantity: 1 volume.
Abstract: Collection of 30 sermons by the pastor of the First Congregational Church of North Yarmouth, Maine.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Tristram Gilman (1735-1809) was the pastor of the First Congregational Church of North Yarmouth, Maine, from 1769-1807. A native of New Hampshire and a graduate of Harvard College in 1757, Gilman is noted for religious revivals instituted in 1791 which resulted in a wave of religious interest throughout New England.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Tristram Gilman Sermons consists of a collection of 30 sermons, handwritten, bound in a single volume.


Arrangement of the Collection

Bound.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has several collections of sermons, including the Gyles Merrill Sermons, the William N. Fanton Sermons, and a miscellaneous collection of Sermons (anonymous). Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index and search on "sermons" for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Gilman, Tristram, 1735-1809.

Subjects

Clergy -- United States.
Episcopal Church -- Clergy.
Episcopal Church -- Maine.
Sermons, American.

Genres and Forms

Sermons.

Occupations

Clergy.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Tristram Gilman Sermons,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1969.


Table of Contents

Writings


Inventory

Writings
Box MV-6 Sermons 1768-1807