Collection inventory


Finding Aids

William H. Gifford Letters

A description of his letters at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 19 Apr 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Gifford, William H.
Title: William H. Gifford Letters
Dates: 1871
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Two letters related to Gifford's work as a lawyer in Syracuse, New York.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

William H. Gifford (d. 1917) was a member of the law firm of Hiscock, Gifford & Doheny in Syracuse, New York and was also a district attorney for Onondaga County.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The William H. Gifford Letters consists of two handwritten letters sent by Gifford. Both are written on Hiscock, Gifford & Doheny letterhead. The first letter is dated 25 May 1871 and is addressed to "Mr. Snowdon(?) Mathew." It discusses arrangements for a mortgage for a "Mrs. Mathew."

The second letter is dated 26 Oct 1871 and addressed to "Rockwell(?), esq." It also refers to the mortgage being arranged for Mrs. Mathew.


Arrangement of the Collection

Letters are arranged in chronological order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Gifford, William H.

Corporate Bodies

Hiscock, Gifford & Doheny.

Subjects

Lawyers -- New York (State) -- Correspondence.

Places

Syracuse (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Lawyers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William H. Gifford Letters,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 457 1871