Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Sanford Gifford Diary and Ledger

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 19 Feb 2015

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Gifford, Sanford.
Title: Sanford Gifford Diary and Ledger
Dates: 1848-1871
Quantity: 2 folders (SC)
Abstract: Combination diary and ledger kept by Sanford Gifford, a Quaker, of Aurora, New York.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Sanford Gifford (1812-1880) was a farmer in Aurora, New York, and at one time represented Cayuga County in the New York State Assembly.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Sanford Gifford Diary and Ledger consists of one volume ofmore than 400 pages and a number of loose sheets. The pages record transactions of various sorts and business agreements with neighbors. The name of Slocum Howland, a noted abolitionist appears several times, and the back pages includes names of regular or long-term employees, with full names, dates of employment, time off, etc.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Gifford, Sanford.
Howland, Slocum.

Subjects

Farmers -- New York (State)
Quakers -- New York (State)

Places

Aurora (N.Y.)

Genres and Forms

Diaries.
Ledgers (account books)

Occupations

Farmers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Sanford Gifford Diary and Ledger,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2015.


Table of Contents

Business records


Inventory

Business records
SC 730 Diary / ledger 1848-1871
SC 730 Loose sheets