Collection inventory


Finding Aids

André Gide Letters

An inventory of his letters at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LDC
Date: 06 Nov 2008

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Gide, André, 1869-1951.
Title: André Gide Letters
Dates: 1927-1935
Quantity: 6 items (SC)
Abstract: Papers of the French author, novelist. Holograph and typed letters (6) to Eugène Dabit.
Language: In French
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

André Gide was a French author and novelist known for his fiction and autobiographical works. He won the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1947.

André Paul Guillaume Gide was born on November 22, 1869 in Paris, France to Juliette (Rondeaux) and Paul Gide. In October 1895 he married his cousin, Madeleine Rondeaux, but the marriage was never consummated. Gide had one daughter, Catherine, born to Elisabeth van Rysselberghe in 1923. Gide had a successful literary career and in 1947 he received the Nobel Prize in Literature "for his comprehensive and artistically significant writings, in which human problems and conditions have been presented with a fearless love of truth and keen psychological insight" (The Nobel Foundation, http://nobelprize.org/nobel_prizes/literature/laureates/1947/index.html). He died of pneumonia on February 19, 1951.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The André Gide Letters contain six letters to Eugène Dabit, dated 1927-1930. Each letter is accompanied by a translation and typescript version.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection contains one series, Correspondence, which is arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Dabit, Eugène, 1898-1936.
Gide, André, 1869-1951 -- Correspondence.

Subjects

Authors, French.
French literature -- 20th century.
Novelists, French.

Genres and Forms

Letters (correspondence)

Occupations

Authors.
Novelists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

André Gide Letters
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 246 28 Mar 1927
SC 246 23 Oct 1927
SC 246 06 Nov 1927
SC 246 19 Nov 1929
SC 246 12 Sep 1930
SC 246 17 Jul 1935