Collection inventory


Finding Aids

A. Hamilton Gibbs Manuscripts

A description of the items at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 19 Apr 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Gibbs, A. Hamilton (Arthur Hamilton), 1888-1964.
Title: A. Hamilton Gibbs Manuscripts
Dates: 1956-1962
Quantity: 2 folder (SC)
Abstract: Two typescript manuscripts by the British author, one a short essay and one a novel.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Arthur Hamilton Gibbs (1888-1964) was a British novelist and essay writer.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The A. Hamilton Gibbs Manuscripts contains two items, both undated typescript manuscripts for publication. The first item is a 7-page essay entitled "Letter to a Friend," which is about Hamilton's close friend Kenneth Roberts, the American historical fiction author. The essay was published in the Colby Library Quarterly in 1962.

The second item is a 226-page typescript manuscript of Hamilton's novel Obedience to the Moon, which contains handwritten corrections. A note inside the cover indicates that Gibbs' residence at the time was in Lakeville/Middleboro, Massachusetts. The novel was published in 1956.


Arrangement of the Collection

Items are in alphabetical order by title.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Gibbs, A. Hamilton (Arthur Hamilton), 1888-1964.
Gibbs, A. Hamilton (Arthur Hamilton), 1888-1964. Obedience to the moon.

Subjects

Authors, English -- 20th century.

Places

Lakeville (Mass. : Town) -- History.
Middleboro (Mass.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

A. Hamilton Gibbs Manuscripts,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Manuscripts


Inventory

Manuscripts
SC 458 "Letter to a Friend" 1962 - essay about American historical fiction author, Kenneth Roberts
SC 458 Obedience to the Moon 1956