Collection inventory


Finding Aids

James Cardinal Gibbons Letter

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 14 Apr 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Gibbons, James, 1834-1921.
Title: James Cardinal Gibbons Letter
Dates: 1908
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: A letter by the American Cardinal.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

James Cardinal Gibbons (1834-1921) was an American Cardinal of the Roman Catholic Church and a leader of the American Catholic community. His 1876 book, The Faith of Our Fathers was a best-selling apologetic and explanation of the Catholic faith.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The James Cardinal Gibbons Letter is dated 13 Jan 1908 and was sent from Baltimore, Maryland. It is a signed, typewritten letter in which Gibbons discusses prohibition activities and his opinion of the changing local laws in Maryland.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Gibbons, James, 1834-1921.

Subjects

Prohibition -- United States -- History -- 20th century.

Places

Baltimore (Md.) -- Church history.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Clergy.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

James Cardinal Gibbons Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased, 1966.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 446 1908