Collection inventory


Finding Aids

German Manuscript

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 19 Sep 2011

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Title: German Manuscript
Dates: circa 1900
Quantity: SC (1 volume)
Abstract: German manuscript, most likely from the beginning of the 19th century. Poems, songs, tobacco recipes, apothecary's ingredients, etc.
Language: Majority in German, some in French
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known of the author(s) of this volume, nor of its provenance.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

This German manuscript consists of a bound volume filled with handwritten items, dating most likely from the beginning of the 19th century. The following inscription is found at the end of the volume: Johann Wolfgang Riechelt. 1817. Den 25. Febr. Anno 1821. The volume contains two separate sections of material, possibly by different hands and separated by a handful of blank pages. The pages of the first section are numbered. This section contains a list of numbers in French, followed by poems, songs and other literary excerpts in German. The second section is unnumbered and contains information on the tobacco plant and recipes, many of them for tobacco mixes. This section concludes with a list of symbols for minerals and apothecary’s ingredients. The entirety of the second section is written in German.


Arrangement of the Collection

Bound volume.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Subjects

Formulas, recipes, etc.

Genres and Forms

Poems.
Recipes.
Songs (document genre)

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

German Manuscript,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.


Table of Contents

Manuscripts


Inventory

Manuscripts
SC 664 German volume circa 1900