Collection inventory


Finding Aids

German Manuscript (II)

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 12 Oct 2011

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Title: German Manuscript (II)
Dates: circa 1800
Quantity: SC (1 volume)
Abstract: German manuscript, most likely from the beginning of the 18th century. Handwritten, bound volume. Appears to be writings on various books of the Bible.
Language: German
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known of the author(s) of this volume, nor of its provenance.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

This German manuscript consists of a bound volume filled with handwritten items, dating most likely from the beginning of the 18th century. The book consists of lengthy entries, all written neatly in the same hand. Dates at the end of some entries read 1797 and 1798. A table of contents at the back indicates that the entries relate to topics such as the Gospel of John the Evangelist and Corinthians. Written on the front free end paper is the following inscription: " [?] büchlein gehört Johann Georg Römmel in Sla[?] Anus 1801 Nov 1."

Two loose pages, folded and laid in, are identical copies of a religious text with the exception that one has the initials M. M. and the date, Feb. 15, 1843 written at the bottom. These pages are in a very different hand from the rest of the book.


Arrangement of the Collection

Bound volume.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Subjects

Bible -- History and criticism.
Bible -- Theology.

Genres and Forms

Manuscripts (document genre)

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

German Manuscript (II),
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.


Table of Contents

Manuscripts


Inventory

Manuscripts
SC 664 German, handwritten, writings on the Bible circa 1800