Collection inventory


Special Collections home page

Gerard Designs Collection of Mold Drawings

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: DGI/MM
Date: 2006



Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Gerard Designs Collection of Mold Drawings consists of drawings of molds created by Gerard Designs for various companies in the plastics and other industries, including Parker Brothers, Monsanto, and General Electric. Most drawings contain initials of Robert McGee. See Index to Companies at the end of this finding aid for a complete alphabetical list.

Drawings are in relatively good condition; however, many are faded where exposed to light and acidic materials for long periods of time.


Arrangement of the Collection

Arranged by drawing number, which is also roughly chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous holdings in the areas of plastics and industrial design. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

McGee, Robert.

Corporate Bodies

Monsanto Company.
Nypro (UK) Limited.
General Electric Company.
Gerard Designs -- Archives.
Milton Bradley Company.
Parker Brothers, inc.

Subjects

Plastics -- Molds.
Plastics in packaging.
Plastics industry and trade.

Genres and Forms

Drawings.
Molds (shaping tools).

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Gerard Designs Collection of Mold Drawings,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from National Plastics Center and Museum, 11/06/2008.


Table of Contents

Drawings

Index to companies


Inventory


Index to companies

Following is an alphabetical listing of all companies whose names appear as the client on a drawing.