Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

George Braziller, Inc. Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: --
Date: circa 1970

Biographical History

Founded in 1955, George Braziller, Inc. is a small, independent publishing house based in New York City. Its focus is on international literature as well as art and architecture; genres published include fiction, nonfiction, poetry, art, architecture, and design.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The George Braziller, Inc. Records consists of manuscripts, production materials, and publicity material.

Manuscripts includes typescript and xeroxed drafts of books, as well as galleys and page proofs for these books.

Production material consists of published book covers, camera copy, a small amount of production correspondence, drawings for book jackets and a few photographs and negatives of books and authors.

Publicity material contains camera copy advertising for Braziller books, galleys for advertisements, a review of a book published by Braziller, and several press releases.

Arrangement of the Collection

Manuscripts, production material, and publicity materials are all arranged alphabetically by book title.


Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the records of numerous publishing firms, including large national firms as well as some small private presses. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

George Braziller, Inc. -- Archives.


Publishers and publishing -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Galley proofs.
Manuscripts for publication.
Press releases.



Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

George Braziller, Inc. Records
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents


Production material

Publicity material