Collection inventory


Finding Aids

General Store Inventory

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 14 Apr 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Title: General Store Inventory
Dates: Undated
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Account book listing items held by a general store and their prices.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

There is no identifying information for the general store, but the inventory appears to date from the late eighteenth or the early nineteenth century.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The General Store Inventory is a 10 page account book kept by an unidentified general store. The inventory lists items and their prices under various headings, including medicine, paints, "dyers stuffs," crockery, glass, and West Indies goods.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Subjects

Drugstores -- United States -- History.
General stores -- United States -- History.

Genres and Forms

Account books.
Inventories.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

General Store Inventory,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased, 1969.


Table of Contents

Account Books


Inventory

Account Books
SC 445 Undated