Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Victor Joseph Gatto Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 4 Jan 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Gatto, Victor Joseph.
Title: Victor Joseph Gatto Papers
Dates: 1950-1962
Quantity: 2 folders (SC)
Abstract: Correspondence of the American primitive painter; clippings. All material is photocopies, no originals.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Victor Joseph Gatto (1893-1965), known as Joe Gatto, was an American primitive painter best known for his images of New York city life. Although he showed artistic talent as a child, he followed a variety of career paths ranging from plumbing to professional boxing to service in the U.S. Navy before turning to painting full time in 1938. His work was exhibited at the Whitney Museum of American Art and other major galleries in the United States and


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Victor Joseph Gatto Papers consist of outgoing correspondence and clippings about Gatto and his work. The collection consists entirely of photocopies; there is no original material.


Arrangement of the Collection

Material is in roughly chronological order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Gatto, Victor Joseph.

Subjects

Artists -- United States -- 20th century.
Painting, Modern -- 20th century.
Primitivism in art.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Photocopies.

Occupations

Artists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Victor Joseph Gatto Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Clippings

Correspondence


Inventory

Clippings
SC 365 Undated
Correspondence
SC 365 1950-1962, undated