Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Garo Collection

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 4 Jan 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Title: Garo Collection
Dates: 1872-1941
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence, printed material, manuscript material, subject file relating to the Garo tribe of Assam, India.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Garos are a tribe of the Garo Hills (Meghalaya, India) and neighboring areas of Bangladesh. Their name for themselves is A'chik-Mande ("hill-people"). They are matrilineal in organization and though originally pantheist they are now primarily Christian.

Reverend F. W. Harding of Hannibal and Fulton, New York was a Baptist minister. He and his wife spent many years as missionaries to Assam and other areas of India in the early 1900s, and founded Harding Theological College (originally Tura Bible Training School, later A'chik Theological College) in Tura in northeastern India.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Garo Collection consists of correspondence, printed material, manuscript material, and subject files relating to the Garo tribe of Assam, India and to Rev. Harding's mission there.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Subjects

Baptists -- Missions -- India.
Garo (Indic people) -- Religion.

Places

Assam (India) -- History.
Assam (India) -- Religious life and customs.
Garo Hills (India) -- History.
Garo Hills (India) -- Religious life and customs.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Research notes.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Garo Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.