Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Hamlin Garland Letter

A description of his letter at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 14 Apr 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Garland, Hamlin, 1860-1940
Title: Hamlin Garland Letter
Dates: Undated
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: A letter by the American author.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Hamlin Garland (1860-1940) was an American author and short story writer. He was awarded the 1922 Pulizer Prize for his book, A Daughter of the Middle Border.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Hamlin Garland Letter is dated 7 March and written on 71 East Ninety-Second Street, New York City letterhead. The handwritten letter is addressed to "Mrs. Rand(?)" and thanks her for her letter regarding Hamlin's Middle Border series.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center also holds many of Garland's published works. Please be sure to search the Classic Catalog for these related materials.


Subject Headings

Persons

Garland, Hamlin, 1860-1940.

Subjects

Authors -- 20th century -- Correspondence.

Places

New York (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Hamlin Garland Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased, 1966.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 442 Undated