Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Leon J. Galloway Collection

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 4 Jan 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Galloway, Leon J.
Title: Leon J. Galloway Collection
Dates: circa 1865
Quantity: 5 linear ft.
Abstract: Material relating to Civil War and to Hicksite Quakers.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Elias Hicks (1748-1830) was originally a member of the Society of Friends (Quakers) in Philadelphia. In the 1820s the group split, partially (though not entirely) over various of Hicks' views including denial of the virgin birth and emphasis on "the light within" over the literal text of the Bible. Followers of Hicks, among whom was Walt Whitman, were known as "Hicksites."


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Leon J. Galloway Collection consists of books and other material relating to Civil War and the Hicksite Quakers.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection has not been processed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has a substantial amount of material in both manuscript and rare books holdings relating to Quakers and other mid-nineteenth century religious movements. Please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate printed/cataloged material and to the SCRC Subject Index for a listing of manuscript material.


Subject Headings

Subjects

Hicksites -- United States -- History.
Society of Friends.

Places

United States -- Church history -- 19th century.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Leon J. Galloway Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Leon J. Galloway, 1978.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.