Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Fantasy & Science Fiction Magazine Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: --
Date: May 2009

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Mercury Press
Title: Fantasy & Science Fiction Magazine Collection
Dates: 1980-
Quantity: approximately 30 linear ft.
Abstract: Manuscripts submitted to Fantasy & Science Fiction magazine.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, later renamed Fantasy & Science Fiction and sometimes referred to as F&SF, published its first issue in 1949. It was published continuously by Mercury Press for more than fifty years, until the magazine moved to Spilogale, Inc. in 2001. Initially the magazine was published quarterly (1949-1950) but by 1952 it was a monthly magazine, which it remained until 1991. From 1991-2008 F&SF published 11 issues per year, until in 2009 it dropped back to a bimonthly publication.

Notable authors published in F&SF include Harlan Ellison, Thomas Disch, Stephen King, Shirely Jackson, Robert Heinlein, Fritz Leiber, Kurt Vonnegut, and many many more.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Fantasy & Science Fiction Magazine Collection contains correspondence and manuscripts submitted for publication in The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction. The collection is presently unprocessed.


Other Related Finding Aids

An up-to-date author index to the complete run of F&SF magazine is available online at http://www.hycyber.com/SF/fsf_aa.html.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the Mercury Press Records. In addition, Special Collections Research Center has a number of manuscript collections related to science fiction and fantasy authors and publishers; please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing. In addition, numerous science fiction books, pamphlets, serials and other items are cataloged in the Rare Books Collection; please be sure to search the Classic Catalog for these related materials.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Mercury Press.

Associated Titles

Fantasy & science fiction.
Magazine of fantasy and science fiction (Cornwall, Conn.)

Subjects

Fantasy fiction -- Publishing.
Fantasy fiction, American -- Periodicals.
Science fiction -- Publishing.
Science fiction, American -- Periodicals.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Publishers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Fantasy & Science Fiction Magazine Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mercury Press and Spilogale, Inc..


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.