Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Robert Frost Collection

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 7 Apr 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Frost, Robert, 1874-1963
Title: Robert Frost Collection
Dates: 1925-1950
Quantity: 3 folders (SC)
Abstract: Items from the American poet, including letters written by him, an unpublished poem, and a recording of a speech he gave at Cornell University.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Robert Frost (1874-1963) was an American poet and four-time winner of the Pulitzer Prize, one of the most influential writers of the twentieth century.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Robert Frost Collection contains both original and photocopied letters, an unpublished poem, and a recording of a speech given by Frost. There are five handwritten or typescript letters sent by Frost, spanning 1935-1949, including both personal and business correspondence. Two discuss the 1946 publication of his essay, "The Constant Symbol," in the Atlantic Monthly. There are also photocopies of four letters spanning 1925-1933 sent by Frost to his friend Edward Morgan Lewis, who was President of the University of New Hampshire.

The poem is single page, handwritten item signed by Frost and entitled "Comparative Stars."

The recording is a reel to reel tape of a speech about William Wordsworth that Frost gave on 20 Apr 1950 at Cornell University.


Arrangement of the Collection

The correspondence is in chronological order, divided between original and photocopied letters.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.Researcher access to the tape requires advance notice in order to produce a working copy.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center also holds many of Frost's published works. Please be sure to search the Classic Catalog for these related materials. There are also several photographs of Frost in the Clara E. Sipprell Paper.


Subject Headings

Persons

Frost, Robert, 1874-1963.

Subjects

Poets -- 20th century -- Correspondence.

Places

Ripton (Vt.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Audiotapes.
Correspondence.
Poems.

Occupations

Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Robert Frost Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Poem gift of Frank Piskor, 1966.


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Poems and Recordings


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 432 1925-1949 - both original and photocopied letters.
Poems and Recordings
SC 432 "Comparative Stars" Undated
SC 432 "A Tribute to William Wordsworth" 1950 - reel to reel tape with a speech by Frost presented as a part of Cornell University's celebration of the centennial of the death of William Wordsworth.