Collection inventory


Special Collections home page

Harriet Whitney Frishmuth Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: Aug 1967



Biographical History

Harriet W. Frishmuth (1880-1980) was an American sculptor. Born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, on September 17, 1880, she studied art in Paris under Rodin and Injalbert, in Berlin under Euchteitz and at the Art Students' League under Borglum and McNeil, where she was awarded the St. Gaudens first prize. Her work has been exhibited at the National Academy of Design, the Academy of Fine Arts in Philadelphia, the Salon in Paris, the San Francisco Exposition (1939-1940) and the National Association of Women Painters and Sculptors.

Frishmuth received several awards from the National Academy of Design, a prize from the Grand Central Art Galleries, an honorable mention from the San Francisco Exposition and the Joan of Arc Silver Medal from the National Association of Women Painters and Sculptors.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Harriet Whitney Frishmuth Papers consists of three major accessions and several later additions which have not been integrated.

The main part of the collection comprises correspondence; photographs, blueprints, and sketches of her work; personal mementos; albums and tapes; scrapbooks; and publications. Correspondence includes that of galleries (Corcoran Gallery of Art, Little Gallery, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Milch Galleries, Park Gallery, Sheldon Swope Art Gallery); professional organizations (National Academy of Design, National Sculpture Society, Municipal Art Society, Society of Medalists); and individuals including her agent, William Drake. Works comprises photographs, blueprints, and sketches of a number of Frsihmuth's pieces, while additional photographs can be found in Albums and tapes. Personal mementos awards, certificates, photographs, maps, and studio plans. Scrapbooks contains two scrapbooks, one with newspaper clippings and the other of various personal mementos. Publications concerning Miss Frishmuth contains various books that discuss Miss Frishmuth and her work (some of these have been transferred to Rare Books for separate cataloging; see Publications concerning Miss Frishmuth below for details).

The 1979 accession consists of General files (correspondence and financial), Photographs (prints and slides), Printed matter (clippings, books and periodicals), Memorabilia (awards, passport, Red Cross uniform), Negatives (celluloid, copper and glass) and Art pieces (2 sculptures, 5 reliefs, and a sketch). This accession added 5-1/2 linear feet (10 boxes, 2 oversized packages) to the collection.

The 1980 accession consists of Artwork (glass plates, paintings, sculptures, and photographs of Frishmuth work); Biographical material (books with small sections on her life); Correspondence (business and personal; Financial material (1 vol.); Memorabilia (medals and miscellaneous photographs) and Printed material (books and pamphlets). This accession added 8 square feet (4 boxes, 10 oversized packages) to the collection.


Arrangement of the Collection

Later accessions have not been integrated. Note that box numbering begins again with Box 1. Please specify accession and box number when requesting items to ensure retrieval of correct boxes.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

Nothing three-dimensional may be reproduced.

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

A few books have been removed from the collection and transferred to Rare Books for separate cataloging. See Publications concerning Miss Frishmuth below for details.

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of more than 60 sculptors, including Anna Hyatt Huntington, James Earle Fraser and his wife Laura Gardin Fraser, and Brenda Putnam. Please see the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Frishmuth, Harriet Whitney, 1880-1980.

Corporate Bodies

Allied Architects of Los Angeles.
Grand Central Art Galleries.
National Academy of Design (U.S.)
National Sculpture Society (U.S.)
New York World's Fair (1939-1940 : New York, N.Y.)

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, American.
Sculptors -- United States.
Sculpture, American -- 20th century.
Sculpture, American.
Women artists -- United States.
Women sculptors -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Awards.
Bank statements.
Bills of sale.
Blueprints (reprographic copies)
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Photographs.
Receipts (financial records)
Scrapbooks.
Sketches.

Occupations

Artists.
Sculptors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Harriet Whitney Frishmuth Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Majority of collection gift of Harriet Frishmuth, 1967-1980.

Some memorabilia gift of Ruth Talcott, 1985.

"Dorothea" bronze relief and plaster relief, and plaster bust of infant gift of Bettina Huffman, 2010.


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Works

Personal mementos of Miss Frishmuth

Albums and tapes

Scrapbooks

Publications concerning Frishmuth

1979 Accession

1980 Accession


Inventory