Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Louis Freund Papers

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 8 Sep 2010

Revision history:
4 Nov 2010 processed (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Freund, Louis, 1905-1999.
Title: Louis Freund Papers
Dates: 1947-1964
Quantity: 3 folders (SC)
Abstract: American muralist. Collection contains correspondence, printed material and clippings.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Harry Louis Freund (1905-1999) was an American muralist and painter known for his depictions of life in the Ozark Mountains of Arkansas during the 1930s.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Louis Freund Papers consist of artwork (both original and reproduction) and various printed items about Freund and his work, including newspaper clippings, magazine articles and exhibition brochures. Many of the clippings date from his time as artist-in-residence at Stetson University in Florida.


Arrangement of the Collection

No particular order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Freund, Louis, 1905-1999.

Corporate Bodies

Stetson University -- History.

Subjects

Mural painting and decoration -- 20th century.
Painters -- Arkansas.
Painters -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Exhibition catalogs.

Occupations

Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Louis Freund Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Louis Freund, 1965.


Table of Contents

Artwork

About Freund and his work


Inventory

Artwork
SC 649, Folder 1 Original prints "Approaching Storm" and a depiction of the removal of Christ from the cross, plus assorted reproductions undated
About Freund and his work
SC 649, Folder 2 Clippings 1947, 1955-1956, 1961-1964 - many relate to Freund's time as artist-in-residence at Stetson College
SC 649, Folder 3 Miscellaneous 1956, 1960, 1962, 1964, undated - exhibition ephemera, two magazine articles, biographical sketch, two family Christmas letters