Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Robert S. Fraser Manuscript

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 20 Mar 2017

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Fraser, Robert Scott.
Title: Robert S. Fraser Manuscript
Dates: 1968
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Thesis for Master of English degree, on letters between the sculptors James Earle Fraser and Laura Gardin Fraser and poet Edwin Arlington Robinson.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

James Earle Fraser (1876-1953) and his wife Laura Gardin Fraser (1889-1966) were award-winning American sculptors and medallists. They were known for large-scale statuary and monument work, particularly of noted figures in American history such as Benjamin Franklin, Thomas Edison, Abraham Lincoln, Generals Robert E. Lee and "Stonewall" Jackson, and many others. In addition, they designed either jointly or separately a number of medals including the Lindbergh, George C. Marshall, and Benjamin Franklin Congressional Medals of Honor, and the American five-cent coin known as the "Buffalo nickel." Alice Tilton Gardin was Laura's mother.

Edwin Arlington Robinson (1869-1935) was a highly regarded American poet of the 20th century and a close friend of the Frasers. He was a regular summer resident at the MacDowell Colony, and won three Pulitzer prizes for his poetry.

The relationship (if any) of Robert S. Fraser, the author of this manuscript, to James Earle and Laura Gardin Fraser cannot be determined.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Robert S. Fraser Manuscript is a photocopy typescript of a manuscript submitted to Syracuse University as a Master's thesis, entitled "From poetry to sculpture: The letters of Edwin Arlington Robinson to Laura Gardin Fraser, James Earle Fraser, and Alice Tilton Gardin."


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the James Earle and Laura Gardin Fraser Papers and Edwin Arlington Robinson Papers.


Subject Headings

Persons

Fraser, James Earle, 1876-1953.
Fraser, Laura Gardin, 1889-1966.
Fraser, Robert Scott.
Gardin, Alice Tilton.
Robinson, Edwin Arlington, 1869-1935.

Subjects

American poetry -- 20th century.
Art, American -- 20th century.
Poets, American -- 20th century.
Sculpture, Modern -- 20th century.
Women artists -- United States.
Women sculptors -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Manuscripts for publication.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Robert S. Fraser Manuscript,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Robert S. Fraser, 1969.


Table of Contents

Writings


Inventory

Writings
SC 794 From poetry to sculpture: The letters of Edwin Arlington Robinson to Laura Gardin Fraser, James Earle Fraser, and Alice Tilton Gardin 1968