Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Benjamin Franklin Promissory Note

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 7 Apr 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Franklin, Benjamin, 1706-1790.
Title: Benjamin Franklin Promissory Note
Dates: 1782
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Promissory note printed and signed by Benjamin Franklin, recording a 1782 loan from the French government to the United States.
Language: French
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Benjamin Franklin (1706-1790) was one of the founding fathers of the United States and one of the most significant men in American history. He served as the Ambassador to France from 1778 to 1785.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Benjamin Franklin Promissory Note is a document printed and signed by Benjamin Franklin. While he was Ambassador to France, Franklin arranged a number of loans from the French government to support the American Revolution. This promissory note is labed as "no. 19" and dated 8 Feb 1782, recording a 500,000 livres loan. It is one in a series of notes printed by Franklin on a private press he set up at Passy, France. The word "copy" is written at the top of this note, suggesting it was a second copy Franklin kept for his own records.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Franklin, Benjamin, 1706-1790.

Places

16e Arrondissement (Paris, France) -- History.
France -- Foreign relations -- United States.
United States -- Foreign relations -- 1775-1783.
United States -- Foreign relations -- France.
United States -- History -- Revolution, 1775-1783 -- Participation, French.

Genres and Forms

Promissory notes.

Occupations

Ambassadors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Benjamin Franklin Promissory Note,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift, 1959.


Table of Contents

Promissory Notes


Inventory

Promissory Notes
SC 431 1782