Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Joseph C. Foster Diary

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 25 Apr 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Foster, Joseph C., fl. 1863.
Title: Joseph C. Foster Diary
Dates: 1863
Quantity: 1 volume.
Abstract: Diary of a Civil War soldier in the Union army. Also includes one photograph of a young woman.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Joseph C. Foster (dates unknown) was a private with Company F, 148th New York Volunteers, during the American Civil War.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Joseph C. Foster Diary is the diary of Private Joseph C. Foster of Company F, 148th Infantry Regiment, New York State Volunteers. A ferrotype of a young girl is inserted loose inside the back cover.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Foster, Joseph C., fl. 1863.

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Army. -- New York Infantry Regiment, 148th (1861-1865)

Places

United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives.

Genres and Forms

Diaries.
Photographs.

Occupations

Soldiers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Joseph C. Foster Diary,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1969.


Table of Contents

Memorabilia


Inventory

Memorabilia
Volume MV-14 Diary 1863