Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Joshua Forman Letters

A description of his letters at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 7 Apr 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Forman, Joshua, 1777-1849
Title: Joshua Forman Letters
Dates: 1821
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Two letters sent to the Joshua Forman, a nineteenth-century politician and businessman, and one of the founders of Syracuse.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Joshua Forman (1777-1848) was a American lawyer, politician, judge, and businessman. He was a member of the New York State Assembly in 1808, and was one of the first active supporters of the project that would become the Erie Canal. He was also involved in the founding of the city of Syracuse in the 1820s.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Joshua Forman Letters consist of two items. The first letter is dated 24 July 1821, and was sent from Albany by William James, a prominent businessman. The second letter is dated 23 Dec 1821, and was sent from New Bedford by Stephen Smith, a Quaker businessman who moved to Syracuse in 1820. Both letters discuss the development of salt works in the area around Syracuse.


Arrangement of the Collection

Items are in chronological order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections relating to local history. For a complete list, please refer to the the SCRC Subject Index . In particular, see also the Central New York Local History Collection .


Subject Headings

Persons

Forman, Joshua, 1777-1849.
James, William, 1771-1832.
Smith, Stephen.

Subjects

Salt industry and trade -- New York (State) -- Syracuse.

Places

Syracuse (N.Y.) -- History.
Syracuse (N.Y.) -- Industries.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Businessmen.
Lawyers.
Politicians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Joshua Forman Letters,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 430 1821