Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Harry Buxton Forman Letter

A description of his letter at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 7 Apr 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Forman, H. Buxton (Harry Buxton), 1842-1917
Title: Harry Buxton Forman Letter
Dates: Undated
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: A letter written by the English bookseller, bibliographer, and forger.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Henry "Harry" Buxton Forman (1842-1917) was an English bookseller and bibliographer known for his scholarship of English authors such as Percy Shelley and John Keats. After his death, it was discovered that he had been part of a long-term literary forgery scheme with fellow book collector Thomas James Wise.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Harry Buxton Forman Letter is an undated letter written by Forman and addressed to "Alex Macmillan" of "26 Bedford street, Covent Garden." Possibly this is Alexander Macmillan, one of the co-founders of Macmillan Publishing. In the letter, Forman enquires about an anonymous book of poetry, A Score of Lyrics, published in 1849 by Macmillan, Barclay and Macmillan.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Forman, H. Buxton (Harry Buxton), 1842-1917.

Places

Covent Garden (London, England) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Bibliographers.
Book collectors.
Forgers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Harry Buxton Forman Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 429 Undated