Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Paul Leicester Ford Letter

A description of his letter at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 7 Apr 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Ford, Paul Leicester, 1865-1902
Title: Paul Leicester Ford Letter
Dates: 1880
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: A letter written by the American author and historian.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Paul Leicester Ford (1865-1902) was an American author and historian known for his biographies of American founding fathers and for editing the works of Thomas Jefferson. He was killed in 1902 by his brother, Malcolm Webster Ford, in a murder-suicide related to a family dispute over money.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Paul Leicester Ford Letter is a handwritten letter dated 12 Aug 1880. The letter is addressed to "My dear Rosy," likely Ford's sister Rosalie Ford Barr, and discusses an upcoming vacation he was taking with his mother and other relatives.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Ford family.
Ford, Paul Leicester, 1865-1902.

Subjects

Historians -- United States -- Correspondence.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Author.
Historians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Paul Leicester Ford Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 428 1880