Collection inventory


Special Collections home page

Folio Society Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: unknown
Date: 14 Jul 2017



Biographical History

The Folio Society is a privately owned London-based publisher, founded by Charles Ede, Christopher Sandford, and Alan Bott in 1947. It produces illustrated hardback editions of classic fiction and non-fiction books, poetry and children's titles. For many years the Society also operated a bookstore in the Holborn area of London, but it closed in 2016.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Folio Society Collection consists of correspondence with authors, editors, and illustrators, as well as numerous pieces of original art including wood block prints, lithographs, and sketches. Notable correspondents include Cecil Beaton, Walter de la Mare, Daphne du Maurier, Derrick Harris, Joan Hassall, Gerard Hopkins, B.H. Liddell Hart, Harold Nicolson, Laurence Olivier, Herbert Beerbohm Tree, and Cicely Veronica Wedgwood.

The material is arranged by Folio Society publication number, although not all Folio Society publications are represented, and in some cases correspondence or artwork pertaining to one publication may be filed under another title due to context. The Society's own bibliography, a copy of which is in the collection, was used to determine dates. Under each publication are listed the names of the correspondents and/or artists represented in that folder. In addition, a complete Index to the collection is provided at the end of this finding aid.


Arrangement of the Collection

By Folio Society publication number (FS 1, FS 2, etc.), according to the Society's bibliography.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center also has a large collection of more than 350 Folio Society editions. Please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate these items.


Subject Headings

Persons

Beaton, Cecil, 1904-1980.
Birkett, Norman Birkett, Baron, 1883-1962.
Bonfils, Robert, 1886-1972.
Boullaire, Jacques, 1893-1976.
Buckland Wright, John, 1897-1954.
Ede, Charles.
Einzig, Susan.
Gibbings, Robert, 1889-1958.
Goor, G. (Gaston), 1902-1977.
Harris, Derrick, 1919-1960.
Hassall, Joan.
Hopkins, Gerard, 1892-1961.
Le Campion, Valentin.
Martin, Frank, 1921-2005.
Olivier, Laurence, 1907-1989.
Palmer, Garrick.
Peake, Mervyn, 1911-1968.
Read, Harold Hope.
Rossem, Ru van.
Sala Grau, Joan, 1938-
Stone, Reynolds.
Svolinský, Karel, 1896-1986.
Whyte, Edna.

Corporate Bodies

Folio Society (London, England)

Associated Titles

FOLIO 21: A bibliography of The Folio Society 1947-1967.

Subjects

Authors, American.
Authors, English.
Authors, French.
Classical literature -- Publishing.
Literature publishing -- Great Britain -- History -- 20th century.
Private presses -- England.
Publishers and publishing -- Great Britain.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Engravings (prints)
Lithographs.
Sketches.
Woodcuts (prints)

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Folio Society Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.


Table of Contents

Bibliographies and lists

1947 publications

1948 publications

1949 publications

1950 publications

1951 publications

1952 publications

1953 publications

1954 publications

1955 publications

1956 publications

1957 publications

1958 publications

1959 publications

1960 publications

1961 publications

1962 publications

1963 publications

1964 publications

1965 publications

1967 publications

Unidentified publications

Index to correspondents and graphic materials


Inventory


Index to correspondents and graphic materials