Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Joseph Floch Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: --
Date: Jun 1967

Revision history:
28 May 2008 converted to EAD (MRC)
6 Nov 2017 minor correction to German title (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Floch, Joseph, 1895-1977.
Title: Joseph Floch Papers
Dates: 1935-1960
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American painter. Born in Vienna, Austria. Exhibition catalogs (1947-1960); published material about Floch in French and German, 1935 and 1955; and two undated biographical sheets.
Language: English, some printed material in French, German
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Joseph Floch (1895-1977) was an Austrian-American artist known for his modernist landscape and figure paintings. Born in Vienna, Austria on November 5, 1895, he studied at the State Academy of Fine Arts in Vienna (1913-1919) and then in 1926 moved to Paris, where the art dealer B. Weill became his patron. In 1941 he emigrated to New York and ten years later became an American citizen. In 1962 he joined the faculty of the New School of Research.

Floch was an Academician of the National Academy of Design, a member of the Federation of Modern Painters and Sculptors, the American Federation of the Arts and the Salon d'Automne in Paris, France. He received numerous awards and prizes in his career as an artist, including one from the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts, (1944); the National Institute of Arts and Letters in 1955, the International Exhibition in Paris in 1937 and the National Academy of Design in 1960.

Mr. Floch's work is in the permanent collections of museums around the world, including the Museum of Modern Art, the Whitney Museum of American Art, the de Young Memorial Museum in San Francisco, the Museum of Modern Art and various museums in France and Tel Aviv and Jerusalem. His work has been exhibited at major museums in the United States and Europe, including the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts, the Whitney Museum of American Art, the Art Institute of Chicago, the Carnegie Institute, the New York World's Fair, and the Paris Salon.

Mr. Floch was also a contributor of articles and reproductions to many newspapers throughout the United States and Europe.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Joseph Floch Papers consists of biographical material, subject file, and published material.

Biographical material consists of two sheets of biographical data. Subject files contains exhibition catalogues of various showings of Floch's work. Published material consists of two books about Floch, one in German and one in French, and two magazine articles about Floch, in French.


Arrangement of the Collection

Subject files' exhibit catalogs are arranged alphabetically by gallery name. Published material is subdivided by type and arranged alphabetically by title.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of a number of American artists. Please see the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Floch, Joseph, 1895-1977.

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Artists -- United States.
Austrian Americans.
Painters -- United States.
Painting, American -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Exhibition catalogs.

Occupations

Artists.
Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Joseph Floch Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Biographical material

Exhibition catalogs

Published material


Inventory

Biographical material
Box 1 Two sheets
Exhibition catalogs
Box 1 Associated American Artists Galleries 1947, 1949
Box 1 M.H. de Young Memorial Museum 1953
Box 1 Galerie Drouant-David 1954
Box 1 Maxwell Galleries 1960
Box 1 Garelick's Gallery undated
Box 1 Unidentified undated
Published material
Books about
Box 1 Joseph Floch (in French) 1951
Box 1 Die Kunst und das Schöneheim (in German) 1955
Magazine articles about
Box 1 "L'Art et Les Artistes" 1935
Box 1 "Prisme des Arts" undated