Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Mildred Buchanan Flagg Papers

An inventoryof her papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: Michele Combs
Date: 30 Jul 2008

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Flagg, Mildred Buchanan, 1886-1980.
Title: Mildred Buchanan Flagg Papers
Dates: 1876-1955 (bulk: 1900-1955)
Quantity: 1.75 linear ft.
Abstract: American writer, lecturer, clubwoman in Boston area. Collection includes memorabilia (club material, family material, photographs, scrapbooks), published material, and writings.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Mildred Buchanan Flagg (1886-1980) was an American author, lecturer, and organizer of "Celebrity Breakfasts." She attended Curry College in Massachusetts and spent much of her life in Boston, where she was also an active clubwoman, and received an honorary Doctor of Letters degree from Boston University. Her books include fiction, such as Plymouth Maid (1938) and A Boy of Salem (1939), and literary biography, such as her Notable Boston Authors (1965).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Mildred Buchanan Flagg Papers consists of memorabilia (biographical material, photographs, scrapbooks) and writings (books, articles, manuscripts).


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection has not been processed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has made a concerted effort over the years to ensure that its manuscript and rare books holdings complement each other. As a result, many of our manuscript collections are supported by books, pamphlets, serials and other items which are cataloged in the Rare Books Collection. Please be sure to search the Classic Catalog for these related materials.


Subject Headings

Persons

Flagg, Mildred Buchanan, 1886-1980 -- Archives.

Subjects

Women authors -- 20th century

Places

Boston -- Intellectual life.

Genres and Forms

Books.
Correspondence.
Manuscripts (document genre)
Photographs.
Scrapbooks.

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Mildred Buchanan Flagg Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mildred Buchanan Flagg.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.