Collection inventory


Finding Aids

James Montgomery Flagg Drawing

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: KM
Date: Jan 1997

Revision history:
10 Oct 2008 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Flagg, James Montgomery, 1877-1960.
Title: James Montgomery Flagg Drawing
Dates: 1945
Quantity: 1 item (SC)
Abstract: One drawing by the American artist and illustrator.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

James Montgomery Flagg (1877-1960) was an American artist and illustrator. He worked in various media ranging from fine art painting to watercolors to cartooning, but is best remembered for his posters. He was the creator of the now-famous recruiting poster showing a top-hatted Uncle Sam pointing at the viewer, with the words "I want YOU."


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The James Montgomery Flagg Drawing consists of a single original watercolor, of Ebenezer Scrooge. The drawing was a Christmas greeting to his cousin Francis John Flagg and his wife Mildred Buchanan Flagg.


Arrangement of the Collection

One item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the Mildred Buchanan Flagg Papers. In addition, Special Collections Research Center has the papers of many important American artists and illustrators; please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Flagg, James Montgomery, 1877-1960.

Subjects

Artists -- United States -- 20th century.
Illustrators -- United States -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Watercolors (paintings)

Occupations

Artists.
Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

James Montgomery Flagg Drawing,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mildred Buchanan Flagg, 1970.


Table of Contents

Artwork


Inventory

Artwork
SC 150 Watercolor depicting Ebenezer Scrooge 1945