Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Samuel M. Fisk Diary

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: CAD
Date: Mar 1988

Revision history:
23 May 2007 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Fisk, Samuel Manchester, 1830-1912.
Title: Samuel M. Fisk Diary
Dates: 1857-1859
Quantity: 1 volume, 183 pp. (SC)
Abstract: Fisk was born in Hastings, New York, admitted to the Oneida Conference of the Methodist Church in 1855, later transferred to the Northern New York Conference. The diary of Fisk, as deacon, records travels, preaching texts, and work on the Northern Christian advocate. Also contains comments on families and individuals in his care and circle of acquaintance.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Samuel Manchester Fisk (1830-1912) was an American Methodist clergyman. Born in Hastings, New York, Fisk was admitted to the Oneida Conference of the Methodist Church in 1855. He later transferred to the Northern New York Conference. He was ordained as an Elder in 1859. In addition to his preaching duties, he was married and worked on the Northern Christian Advocate.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The daily journal of a young Methodist deacon, the Samuel M. Fisk Diary details Fisk's activities as preacher and husband as well as his work on the Northern Christian Advocate. Fisk records his daily journeys and visits, Biblical studies, texts for sermons, and comments on individuals in his circle of acquaintances and responsibility.

Of his ordination as elder, Fisk notes only "...the Elders were ordained, I among them." (24 Apr 1859).


Arrangement of the Collection

Single volume.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has made a concerted effort over the years to ensure that its manuscript and rare books holdings complement each other. As a result, many of our manuscript collections are supported by books, pamphlets, serials and other items which are cataloged in the Rare Books Collection. Please be sure to search the Classic Catalog for these related materials.

See also other church- and clergy-related collections as listed in our the SCRC Subject Index .


Subject Headings

Persons

Fisk, Samuel Manchester, 1830-1912 -- Diaries.

Associated Titles

Northern Christian advocate.

Subjects

Clergy -- Diaries.
Clergy -- United States.
Methodist Church -- Clergy.
Methodists -- New York (State)
Methodists -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Diaries.

Occupations

Clergy.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Samuel M. Fisk Diary
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1969.


Table of Contents

Writings


Inventory

Writings
SC 63 Diary 1857-1859