Collection inventory


Finding Aids

W. W. Fisher Letter

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 25 Feb 2013

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Fisher, W. W., fl. 1846.
Title: W. W. Fisher Letter
Dates: 1846
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letter from Reverend W. W. Fisher of Palmyra, New York, to E. B. Walsworth, giving details of a brutal attack on a local mixed-race couple by one Schuyler Parshall and several accomplices.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known of the author of this letter or of the individual mentioned, other than what is given in the letter. Searches of archives of local newspapers have not yielded any further information.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The W. W. Fisher Letter consists of a letter from Reverend W. W. Fisher of Palmyra, New York, to "My dear Brother" E. B. Walsworth at Auburn Theological Seminary. Among other things, Fisher desribes "a disgraceful outrage committed of late," in which a local mixed-race couple were brutally attacked by several men, led by one Schuyler Parshall. A transcript of this portion of the letter is provided.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Fisher, W. W., fl. 1846.
Parshall, Schuyler.

Subjects

Hate crimes -- New York (State)
Interracial marriage -- New York (State)

Places

Palmyra (N.Y.) -- History -- 19th century.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

W. W. Fisher Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2013.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 688 to Walsworth, E. B. 25 May 1846