Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

First Methodist Church (Auburn, N.Y.) Records

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 10 Sep 2010

Biographical History

The First Methodist Church in Auburn, New York was organized in 1819. The church had several locations in Auburn: its first home was a wooden structure on Chapel Street in 1821, followed by a stone church in 1833 and a brick church on Exchange Street in 1869. The present (2010) location is the corner of South Street and Fitch Avenue, consecrated in 1957.

In 2008 the congregations of First Methodist and of Trinity United Methodist voted to merge the two bodies into the Auburn Methodist Church.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The First Methodist Church (Auburn, N.Y.) Records consists of three reels of microfilm representing 18 bound volumes and two folders of loose papers. The collection includes financial records, minutes, church history, record books, registers, and other church documents. The original material was in .

Arrangement of the Collection

Bound volumes are in chronological order. Two folders of loose papers appear at the end of Reel 3.


Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has a number of collections relating to a number of churches in and around Central New York. Please refer to the the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

First Methodist Church (Auburn, N.Y.)


Methodist Church -- New York (State) -- History.
Church records and registers.
Churches -- New York (State) -- Syracuse.


New York (State) -- Church history.

Genres and Forms

Church records.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

First Methodist Church (Auburn, N.Y.) Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, circa 1970.

Table of Contents

Church records