Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Field Notes for Final Estimate in Book No. 29, Western Division, N.Y. State Canals

An inventory description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 13 Jan 2015

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: New York (State). Surveyor General.
Title: Field Notes for Final Estimate in Book No. 29, Western Division, N.Y. State Canals
Dates: 1875-1876
Quantity: 1 volume (SC)
Abstract: Surveyor's notebook with measurements and data regarding a segment of the Erie Canal between Palmyra and Rochester, New York.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Constructed between 1817 and 1825, the Erie Canal originally ran from Albany, New York, on the Hudson River to Buffalo, New York, at Lake Erie. The canal was heavily used by commercial and cargo traffic for decades and vastly reduced the cost of commerce between Northeastern ports and the center of the country. Today its primary use is recreational. The canal is now part of the New York State Canal System.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Field Notes for Final Estimate in Book No. 29, Western Division, N.Y. State Canals consists of one volume in two different hands. The volume is a surveyor's notebook with detailed measurements and data regarding the segment of the Erie Canal between Palmyra and Rochester, New York.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single volume.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

New York (State). -- Surveyor General.

Subjects

Canals -- New York (State) -- History.
New York State Canal System (N.Y.)
Transportation -- New York (State)

Places

Erie Canal (N.Y.) -- History -- 19th century.

Genres and Forms

Surveys (documents)

Occupations

Surveyors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Field Notes for Final Estimate in Book No. 29, Western Division, N.Y. State Canals,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2014.


Table of Contents

Surveys


Inventory

Surveys
SC 724 Surveyor's notebook, "Field Notes for Final Estimate in Book No. 29, Western Division, N.Y. State Canals" 1875-1876