Collection inventory


Finding Aids

George Fett Cartoons

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 14 Feb 2012

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Fett, George Leonard.
Title: George Fett Cartoons
Dates: 1976-1981
Quantity: 1.25 linear ft. (60 items)
Abstract: Original cartoons from Norbert comic strip
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

George Leonard Fett 1920-1989) was an American cartoonist best known worldwide for his Sniffy and Norbert comic strips, both of which featured dogs as main characters.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The George Fett Cartoons consists of 60 pieces of original artwork for the Norbert comic strip. The strips are ink and blue pencil on artboard.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Other Related Finding Aids

A detailed listing of the dates of all strips is available in pdf form here (if viewing online) or at the end of this inventory (if viewing hard copy).


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of more than 150 editorial and strip cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Fett, George Leonard.

Corporate Bodies

United Feature Syndicate.

Associated Titles

Norbert (comic strip)

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Comic books, strips, etc. -- United States.
Dogs -- Comic books, strips, etc.

Genres and Forms

Artwork.
Cartoons (humorous images)
Comic strips.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

George Fett Cartoons,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of William Janocha, 2011.


Table of Contents

Cartoons


Inventory

Cartoons
Oversize 1 Norbert 1976, 1978-1981 roughly 17.5" x 5"
Click here for a detailed inventory.