Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Beatrice Fenton Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: -
Date: 1966

Biographical History

Beatrice Fenton (1887-1983) was an American sculptor and educator, best known for her whimsical fountains.

Fenton was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania on July 2, 1887. She studied in Philadelphia at the School of Industrial Art from 1903-1904, and at the Academy of Fine Arts from 1904-1911. Some of her principal works are the Seaward Fountain in Fairmount Park, Philadelphia, the Fairy Fountain in Wister Woods, and a bronze memorial tablet to Charles M. Schmitz.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Beatrice Fenton Papers consists of correspondence, photographs, and published material relating to the American artist.

Correspondence is incoming only. Photographs consist of photographs of the artist's work. Published material consists of magazine articles about Beatrice Fenton and about others, booklets, exhibitions, invitations, news clippings, and a catalog

Arrangement of the Collection

Incoming correspondence is arranged alphabetically by author. Photographs are arranged alphabetically by title. Published material is arranged alphabetically by type.


Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings


Fenton, Beatrice, 1887-1983.


Art, American -- 20th century.
Artists -- United States.
Garden ornaments and furniture.
Outdoor sculpture.
Sculptors -- United States.
Sculpture, American -- 20th century.
Women artists -- United States.
Women sculptors -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Exhibition catalogs.



Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Beatrice Fenton Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift, 1965.

Table of Contents



Published material