Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Lawrence P. Feer Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 26 Feb 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Feer, Lawrence P.
Title: Lawrence P. Feer Papers
Dates: circa 1950-1996
Quantity: 52 linear ft.
Abstract: American industrial designer. Collection includes business files, academic files, drawings, blueprints, models, books, journals, teaching evaluations, project files, newsletters, correspondence, awards, notebooks, research paper, course notes, students assignments, catalogs, project files.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Lawrence Feer is Professor Emeritus of Industrial Design, Syracuse University. A graduate of the Pratt Institute (1953 and 1956), he and fellow Syracuse University faculty member James Pirkl were students of noted industrial design educator Rowena Reed Kostellow. Feer began his career at Oneida Ltd. designing flatware; his New Era and Forever designs, introduced in 1954 and 1957, were popular sellers for more than thirty years and were selected for use in all Disneyland restaurants. He is a member of the Industrial Design Society of American (IDSA).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Lawrence P. Feer Papers consist of academic files, awards, blueprints, books, business files, catalogs, correspondence, course notes, drawings, journals, models, newsletters, notebooks, project files, research papers, student assignments and teaching evaluations.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of many noted industrial designers including James Pirkl, Arthur Pulos, Budd Steinhilber, and John Vassos. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Feer, Lawrence P.

Corporate Bodies

Industrial Designers Society of America.

Subjects

Industrial design -- Study and teaching.
Industrial design -- United States.
Industrial designers -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Awards.
Blueprints (reprographic copies)
Catalogs.
Correspondence.
Drawings.
Lecture notes.
Newsletters.
Research notes.

Occupations

Industrial designer.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Lawrence P. Feer Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Lawrence P. Feer, 1996. Additions, 2010, transfer from Smith Hall, SU.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.