Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Fayetteville & Syracuse Railroad & Turnpike Company Toll gate registers

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: [Summit record]
Date: Jan 1994

Revision history:
18 Jul 2007 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Fayetteville & Syracuse Railroad & Turnpike Company.
Title: Fayetteville & Syracuse Railroad & Turnpike Company Toll gate registers
Dates: 1870-1913
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Six volumes containing daily and monthly toll charges, some with users' names, exemptions, persons who pass free (various paging).
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Fayetteville & Syracuse Railroad & Turnpike Company Toll gate registers consist of six daily and monthly registers of the company, dating from 1870-1913.


Arrangement of the Collection

Registers are arranged chronologically by starting date.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Fayetteville & Syracuse Railroad & Turnpike Company.

Subjects

Railroads -- New York (State) -- Fayetteville.
Railroads -- New York (State) -- Onondaga County.
Railroads -- New York (State) -- Syracuse.
Toll roads -- New York (State) -- Fayetteville.
Toll roads -- New York (State) -- Onondaga County.
Toll roads -- New York (State) -- Syracuse.
Toll roads -- Statistics.

Places

Fayetteville (N.Y.)
Onondaga County (N.Y.)
Syracuse (N.Y.)

Genres and Forms

Registers.

Occupations

Transportation.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Fayetteville & Syracuse Railroad & Turnpike Company Toll gate registers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Lyall D. and Linda E. Squair, 1993.


Table of Contents

Toll gate registers


Inventory

Toll gate registers
Volume 1 Daily register of tolls taken at Gate No. 1 Feb 1, 1870 to Dec 31, 1893
Volume 2 Monthly register of tolls paid (with users' names) Sep 1879 to 1884 (various paging)
Exemptions - special contracts
Residents living within one mile - 1/2 toll or 3/4 toll
Names of persons who pass free
Volume 3 Monthly register of tolls charged - Paid (with users' names) Nov 1881 to Jan 1895
Volume 4 Monthly register of tolls charged Jan 1894 to Apr 1913
Volume 5 Monthly register of tolls charged - Paid (with users' names) Jan 1895 to May 1913
Volume 6 Monthly register of tolls charged May 1895 to Sep 1907